Wyre Forest Swimming Club

WFSC annual celebration

Swimmers who entered 2017 Club Championships gathered excitedly at the Harriers Sports & Social Club on Saturday, 6th January 2018 to celebrate their hard work and achievements.

The evening began with a brief talk and a host of thanks from Club Chairman Nigel Elwell, including a special thanks to Club Secretary Becki Rowley for serving 10 years on the WF committee (with no chance of parole!!) followed by medals and trophies being handed out to swimmers across all age groups who competed at the 2017 club championships.

Head Coach Brian McGuinness also added his thanks to all the volunteer coaches throughout the various squads including the LTS volunteers and those swimmers who gave up their time so willingly to help in the water at LTS; to the ‘Red Army’; the Committee and PSA members and of course the swimmers.  Brian then gave out a series of special annual awards:-

Swimmer of the League

Ross League    Mollie Kilgour for her breakthrough performances in this competition

Nuneaton League – Lillie Grover whose great skills brought great victories in this competition

Head Coach Scrolls

Junior Girl – Jasmine Yates for outstanding performances throughout the UK and now a member of the Swim England WM Regional Squad

Junior Boy – Jeremy Summers who has focussed upon his training and is now a solid member of Gold Squad

Senior Girl – Sarah Palmer who has overcome serious injury, trained hard got back into things and who is now a wonderful member of the teaching and coaching team

Senior Boy – Nathaniel Crowther who has gone and is going from strength to strength, winning tremendous plaudits throughout the UK and has a bright future.

Hogan Shield for Special Achievement

Oliver (Ollie) Dobbins – Ollie won this award as he has overcome a difficult and debilitating condition and at the beginning of the season was given a very stark option with regard to which squad he was to swim within.  He rose to the challenge and is now training and competing at a level unimaginable 12 months ago!

Brian then announced his choice for Club and Vice Captains for 2018:- 

Male Captain – Dylan Smith & Vice Captain Nathaniel Crowther

Female Captain – Abbie Rowley & Vice Captain Imogen Cook 

The business end of the evening complete, swimmers and their parents took to the dance floor to strut their stuff  -  not sure the kids were happy about this but think they have learned to accept it!

The Grand Raffle again had some fantastic prizes on offer, with the ‘dynamic duo’ of Carl Yates and Mandy Morton seeing to it that once again there was no escape when it came to buying tickets!  The photo booth proved popular, with Foresters showing they know how to strike a pose!  

A big thank you to the PSA, especially Jeannette Lane, for organising another successful event for our swimmers to enjoy. 

Photoraphs from the evening can be viewed in our Gallery.



Member Login